Leopard Gecko Forum
Would you like to react to this message? Create an account in a few clicks or log in to continue.

leopard gecko newb

5 posters

Go down

leopard gecko newb Empty leopard gecko newb

Post by cherryfilters Wed Feb 22, 2012 2:54 pm

Hello everyone,

I'm new to the leopard gecko world. I just got two on sunday. Definitely did some research before getting them, but I will more than likely have tons of questions because I am new to this and would like to learn more about these little critters.

I know that it's hard to tell the sex of the geckos at their young stage, but I'm hoping that one is a female. I can kind of tell the other is a male, however, the one I think is a female is a bit iffy. Just need more time for them to grow. The good thing is that they don't bother each other; or fight with each other. They like to stick close by together. I feed them wax worms for treats. Also, I hand feed them the wax worms with feeding tongs so they won't fight over it.

So far so good, but i can't really say because its only been 2~3 days. How can I tell they are healthy and doing A-Okay? I only see them be active late at night, obviously because they are nocturnal, but they seem kind of lethargic. Any feed back?

Tank Setup:

Size: 20 gallon tank setup.
Substrate: Paper towels on top of sand
Food: meal worms and occasionally wax worms
Water source: little rock fountain with water bowl
Heating: Infrared Light with U.T.H for 10~20 Gallon tanks
And plenty of places for them to hide and one hide out with a damp paper towel for moisture.

Thanks for you help everyone! I love you

cherryfilters

Status Status : No status yet...
LGF Points LGF Points : 17

Back to top Go down

leopard gecko newb Empty Re: leopard gecko newb

Post by Kermit Wed Feb 22, 2012 3:09 pm

welcome to the forum. Best advice I can offer is to read the thread on how to make the perfect leo set up here: [You must be registered and logged in to see this link.]