Leopard Gecko Forum
Would you like to react to this message? Create an account in a few clicks or log in to continue.

Im new to Leopard gecko's

+2
asianpersuasion
Lisa
6 posters

Go down

Im new to Leopard gecko's Empty Im new to Leopard gecko's

Post by Lisa Sun Feb 12, 2012 10:17 am

i sure hope someone can help me. I went to petsmart to pick up a few things for my 2 new leopard gecko i purchased tonight, 1st of all they told me I needed to purchased these 3 following lights for the gecko's (night glo light) basking light, repti glo uvb light. what id like to know is do i really need all these lights? I also purchased and under tank heater for the 10 gallon tank they are in. sorry for the right off question..

i just purchased 2 beautiful leopard gecko from someone today their kids no longer wanted. their lose my gain Smile
Lisa
Lisa

Status Status : No status yet...
LGF Points LGF Points : 40

Back to top Go down

Im new to Leopard gecko's Empty Re: Im new to Leopard gecko's

Post by asianpersuasion Sun Feb 12, 2012 10:29 am

First hello and welcome to the forums you certainly have come to the right place.
No you do not need any of those lights. Leopard geckos are crepuscular so they do not require UVB lighting. Bright lighting can also stress out leopard geckos. Leopard geckos get there heat from there bellies which helps with digestion the do not bask under heat so the UTH (under tank heater) is what you want for a heat source. Now if your leos are in a room that doesnt have natural lighting you can use a very low wattage bulb for ambient light so you can view your leo's if you wanted. As for the night glo light you shouldnt need it for additional heat at night unless the room they are in gets very cold at night but generally the UTH is sufficient.
If you have any other questions or concerns please ask and someone will gladly help.
asianpersuasion
asianpersuasion
Loyal Member

LGF Points LGF Points : 1060