Leopard Gecko Forum
Would you like to react to this message? Create an account in a few clicks or log in to continue.

infra red temp guns

5 posters

Go down

infra red temp guns Empty infra red temp guns

Post by rickmoss95 Thu Jun 09, 2011 5:47 am

just wondering how many of you use them. it seems to me that a lot of people dont, and i dont understand why. i have been using one for about fifteen years and wouldnt want to keep ANY reptile without using one! i have used three hundred dollar ones all the way down to twenty five dollar ones. i now use the 50 dollar pro exotics pe2 and i like it as much as any of the more expensive raytek guns i used to use. i dropped a raytek in a bucket of water about three years ago and picked up a pe2 at the cleveland expo the next week. i was a little leary as it was not a "big fancy" type, but i gotta tell you all, this is as good as most of the ones you can buy, just less a few features! i think the advantages are sooo overwhealming that i will never go without one(i also have a brand new one as a backup...stupid buckets of water!) you can check every inch, of every enclosure...cool spots, hot spots. water temps, ect. you can even check the animals temps! i have even used my to check my kids temps! these read surface temps, not air temps, so to check your ambient temps, just shoot the water surface or the sides of the enclosure not directly on a heating element, simple as that. i also check the accuracy of mine on occasion by putting a cup of water in the freezer and checking on it untill it starts to crystalize, then shoot it...it should obviously read around 32*f. i have had the little digital thermos read up to nine degrees different from each other with the probes on the SAME spot! so i always use my temp guns to double check my thermos in my incubators...i dont even use normal thermometers in my enclosures! i was just wondering if anyone here has used these and to advise if you dont have one, maybe check them out...they ar