Leopard Gecko Forum
Would you like to react to this message? Create an account in a few clicks or log in to continue.

i need advice

+4
Jordan
smsararas2
samsleopardgeckos
lplews
8 posters

Go down

i need advice Empty i need advice

Post by lplews Sat Jun 18, 2011 7:59 am

hi all. i am new to this so i hope some of you can help. i have two female leopard geckos. one normal and one supa hypo carrot tail. they are both sisters and two years old around october. the normal gecko is fine. nice big girl and weighs 42g. the supa hypo girl is very small. only 27g!!!!! i have just got a male to have a go at breeding but now think she is way too small. my male weighs 57g so nice healthy lad. the females wernt been looked after properly when i got them and have been led to believe that her sister bullied her for food. (i have Never seen this. both eat really well.) i am currently feeding them on crickets and mealworms. any advice on how to fatten her up in a healthy way or if she is just a small girl.
hope someone can help

lplews

LGF Points LGF Points : 46

Back to top Go down

i need advice Empty Re: i need advice

Post by samsleopardgeckos Sat Jun 18, 2011 8:08 am

Hiya and welcome to the forum.
Yes the female is way too small and it would not be advisable to the male in with her and some will say your 42g female is also slightly under weight for breeding as most breeders use leo's 45g+ .
Most of us feeding wise only feed mealworms or super worms and use waxworms as treat as they have a high fat content but can be addictive for the leo's. the best thing to do might be to seperate the smaller female to make sure she is getting all the food she needs. There is also the possiblity that she is a slow grower and you wont be able to speed things up.
Does she look healthy for her 27g?
samsleopardgeckos
samsleopardgeckos
Forum Staff

Status Status : Trying to tame the Iggy-Pop :)
LGF Points LGF Points : 2764

Back to top Go down

Post by lplews Sat Jun 18, 2011 8:15 am