Leopard Gecko Forum
Would you like to react to this message? Create an account in a few clicks or log in to continue.

calcium bubbles?

3 posters

Go down

calcium bubbles? Empty calcium bubbles?

Post by rickmoss95 Sat Nov 26, 2011 5:03 am

i noticed that a couple of my adults have what i have heard described as 'calcium bubbles' under thier front arms(armpits). i have been giving about 12 to 15 mealies every other night. i dust with rep cal multi vitamins once a week, and have been doing the rep cal calcium with d3 twice a week. i also have a cap of calcium in the cages....my question is this; am i giving too much calcium? since i noticed this, i took out the caps from the affected animals. i have been keeping reptiles for over 25 years, but mostly snakes, so i am pretty new to the suplimentation systems. will these bubbles absorb after a while? am i feeding a little too much? they are deffinately liquid filled bubbles. any help would be much appreciated! thanks in advance! rick
rickmoss95
rickmoss95
Valuable Member
Valuable Member

LGF Points LGF Points : 1245

Back to top Go down

calcium bubbles? Empty Re: calcium bubbles?

Post by Mardy Sat Nov 26, 2011 5:55 am

From my research online, people that have gotten those bubbles tested said they came out to be liquid protein & fat. It has long been thought they are calcium bubbles but so far I haven't found anybody who actually had those biopsies done say they found any calcium. The few that did have those bubbles examined said the results were all liquid protein + fat.

So the common suggestion when your gecko gets these pockets is to 1) feed less, most geckos these days are overfed as people automatically assume bigger gecko = healthy gecko, and that's just not true. Also 2) supplement less, as hypervitaminosis is a very serious issue and again, most people assume more vitamins = better but that's simply not true. Too much vitamins of any kind can be toxic.