Leopard Gecko Forum
Would you like to react to this message? Create an account in a few clicks or log in to continue.

What does this mean?!

3 posters

Go down

What does this mean?! Empty What does this mean?!

Post by Nova Sat Jan 21, 2012 2:28 pm

Okay, I recently-ish got a female SG leopard gecko, named Revel.
She's my first LG but she seems pretty weird... maybe I'm wrong?

First off, if I don't use an overhead lamp, she does not leave her hides. Ever. She just moves back and forth between the cool and warm hide occasionally. Which means she doesn't eat.
So, I got a bulb and turn it on for about 6-8 hours a day, over her warm hide on the left. As soon as I turn on that light, she comes out of her hide and just lays in the middle of her enclosure the ENTIRE time its on. She seems happy, but...WTF? Is she cold? But if she was she'd go into her warm hide with an undertank heater inside it, right? I didn't think basking allll day was normal either. I'm completely new to leopard geckos, IS this normal? Also, I recently read white bulbs stress leos out, so why does mine lay in the open the whole time its on? ..Should I switch to blue?

Thanks for any help,
~A confused Nova

Nova

Status Status : No status yet...
LGF Points LGF Points : 21

Back to top Go down

What does this mean?! Empty Re: What does this mean?!

Post by Kermit Sat Jan 21, 2012 2:38 pm