Leopard Gecko Forum
Would you like to react to this message? Create an account in a few clicks or log in to continue.

Im just getting started...

+6
kathstew
Mystic
wiser
herp625
smsararas2
srawlings
10 posters

Go down

Im just getting started... Empty Im just getting started...

Post by srawlings Fri Jan 13, 2012 2:47 pm

Well in my research of breeding mealworms for fishing i stumbled upon leopard geckos, well after lots of reading im hooked... i want to get 2 females, i think my boys (2 and 4yrs) will enjoy watching them grow up and my wife fell in love with almost everything about them...

today i got a 20L tank for $20 and a free broken reptile den for the cool hide(magnetic one so you can see if you move the rock on the outside of the glass) can i use super glue or could that cause problems with the leo? does any one know if they will grow out of the medium size? the opening seems small.

i know not to use sand, im most likely going to get the carpet...

one question i do have is what kind of heat source to get? i want to get the heating pad but keep reading its about 50/50 on cracking tanks, if i put some cardboard under the corners to get some air flow will there still be a problem? should i just get a red light heat lamp for day and night use?

for the warm side im thinking about getting one of the medium half logs, can they climb on top of them? for now the moist hide will be a storage bowl with a wet paper towel... where in the tank does one put the moist hide (warm or cold side?)

is it true you can put something in the tank the leo will use as a toilet? it sounds to good to be true.

thanks for the help and feel free to give any advise you have

srawlings

Status Status : No status yet...
LGF Points LGF Points : 42

Back to top Go down

Im just getting started... Empty Re: Im just getting started...

Post by smsararas2 Fri Jan 13, 2012 3:18 pm