Leopard Gecko Forum
Would you like to react to this message? Create an account in a few clicks or log in to continue.

Supplementation

2 posters

Go down

Supplementation Empty Supplementation

Post by Dakota314 Mon Feb 27, 2012 10:15 am

Hiya! I'm a newbie to leopard gecko keeping, and am confused on the supplementation. I've been searching this forum for the past few days but can't get a solid answer. I'm used to keeping snakes, so I'm not used to supplementing food.

Next weekend I plan on getting a baby leopard gecko. I've seen a lot of different supplementation scheduals for adults, but have no clue how to change them to fit a baby's needs.

From what I gather, there are a LOT of different ways the people of this forum dust their insects. I read you can dust with Repashy calcium daily, but since that contains vitamin D couldn't that be a little overkill? Especially if you leave a cap of pure calcium in the tank? Some other people dust with pure calcium daily, and use a multivitamin once or twice a week. If I were to do this, would I need an additional cap of calcium in the tank?

Sorry for the long post. I just want to make sure my gecko will be happy and healthy Smile
Dakota314
Dakota314

Status Status : Getting ready for my new leopard gecko :)
LGF Points LGF Points : 57

Back to top Go down

Supplementation Empty Re: Supplementation

Post by Mardy Mon Feb 27, 2012 11:11 am

There are many ways to supplement, people likely will have different opinions on how to do it properly. But my recommendation is to use an all-in-one supplement like repashy calcium plus (it contains calcium, d3, protein, and other multivitamins), dust 2-3x a week with it. I like to keep a bottle cap full of pure calcium w/o D3 in the tank at all time. Some skip this part but I've had success with it, and I see my gecko ingest it when they want to. I know I'm controlling the amount of D3 they are intaking so having pure calcium in the tank won't hurt.